Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Coronavirus travel restrictions around the world: A country-by-country list
As the world works to slow the spread of coronavirus, countries have imposed a variety of travel restrictions.
The measures range from suspending international flights and banning travelers from impacted countries, to requiring citizens or foreign nationals to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.
Government officials across the globe say the travel bans are critical to containing the rapidly spreading coronavirus. Worldwide, more than 7,800 people have died from the virus, and more than 195,000 have been infected, according to Johns Hopkins data. In the U.S. alone there are more than 5,700 confirmed cases with the death toll at 94.
The following is a running list of travel restrictions compiled from government agencies and elected officials. For other countries, check the country-specific U.S. Embassy website
North America
[b]United States[/b]
All foreign nationals from China, Iran and certain European countries are barred from entering the United States. This ban includes anyone who visited these countries within the 14 days prior to their U.S. trip. 
The targeted European countries include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. Trump later added the United Kingdom and Ireland to this list. 
U.S. citizens are allowed to return home but must fly into 13 designated airports and undergo "enhanced entry screening." View the full list of exceptions for entry here.
On Wednesday, President Donald Trump announced the border between Canada and the U.S. would close for nonessential travel. The border closure goes into effect Saturday and will be reviewed after 30 days[b], [/b]officials said Friday. 
Trump announced Friday the U.S.-Mexico border would also close. Trump said trade would not be affected. 
On Thursday, the State Department urged Americans not to travel abroad at all. It issued a Level 4 advisory for travel abroad: "do not travel." 

[b]Canada [/b]

On Monday, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced he was closing the country's border to noncitizens. Its southern border with the U.S. closes to nonessential travel on Saturday. 

[b]Mexico [/b]

The U.S.-Mexico border will be closed to all nonessential travel, Trump announced Friday. Trump also said Mexico was suspending air travel to and from Europe.  

[b]The Caribbean[/b]


Aruba has banned all non-residents from traveling to the island. This ban is in place until March 31. 


Bermuda will close its airport to all incoming flights for two weeks beginning Friday, March 20. Remaining return flights are restricted to residents.

[b]Costa Rica[/b]

Costa Rica banned all non-citizens from entering the country effective at 11:59 p.m. March 18 through April 12. The ban applies to air, land and sea arrivals. 

[b]Dominican Republic[/b]

The Dominican Republic has suspended all flights to and from Europe, China, Korea and Iran. The ban went into effect March 16 and will last at least one month. The country has also suspended all cruise arrivals.


Jamaica is requiring travelers from countries with coronavirus cases to quarantine for 14 days upon their arrival. 


Panama is suspending all commercial flights to and from the country effective at 11:59 p.m. March 22. 

South America

[b]Argentina [/b]

All foreigners who are not residents of Argentina are banned from entering the country until April 1. Argentina may extend this date. 

[b]Bolivia [/b]

On March 13, interim President Jeanine Añez  suspended all flights to and from Europe.


The country canceled flights from Asunción to Madrid, which is the only direct route into Europe, until March 31.


[b]European Union[/b]

President Ursula von der Leyen announced Monday on Twitter that she was restricting all nonessential travel to the European Union for 30 days. Exemptions include family members of European nationals, diplomats, "essential staff" that are addressing the coronavirus spread and people transporting goods. 


Foreign nationals who have been to China, Iran, South Korea or Italy are not allowed to enter Australia for 14 days from the time they left or traveled through the country. Australian citizens are exempt, but they will be asked to self-quarantine for 14 days upon returning home. 

On March 15, the Australian government announced that all travelers will be subject to the 14-day quarantine after arriving, and cruise lines from foreign ports are banned from  Australia for 30 days. 



People traveling to Beijing, Shaghai, Guangdong province and Sichuan province will be quarantined for 14 days in a Chinese facility if they have recently visited countries with "severe outbreaks" such as South Korea, Japan, Iran and Italy. 


The country has suspended all existing visas until April 15. And as of March 16, travelers from the European Union, the European Free Trade Association, Turkey or United Kingdom were banned from entering India. Officials added Afghanistan, Philippines and Malaysia to that list on March 17.

[b]Japan [/b]

Foreign nationals with a Chinese passport issued by Hubei or the Zhejiang provinces and those who have visited Iran, Italy, San Marino or South Korea in the last 14 days are banned from entering the country. 

[b]Thailand [/b]

Travelers who have been in the United States in the past 14 days will be subject to "self-monitoring and reporting requirements" upon arriving in Thailand. Additionally, travelers from Iran, Italy, China, Korea, Hong Kong and Macao must submit proof to their airline at check-in that they tested negative for coronavirus. They must also show proof of a health insurance policy with coverage of at least $100,000.

Middle East

[b]Israel [/b]

As of March 12, foreign nationals are banned from entering the country. The government will make an exception for foreigners who can prove they have a place where they can self-quarantine for two weeks. However, that exception does not include foreign nationals from China, South Korea, Thailand, Italy, Macao, Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan and Egypt.

[b]Saudi Arabia  [/b]

As of March 15, all international flights to and from Saudi Arabia are suspended  for two weeks. 


[b]South Africa [/b]

The country has imposed a travel ban on foreign nationals from "high-risk countries" including the United States, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United Kingdom and China starting March 18. Officials expanded the ban to include France and Switzerland.


The Ministry of Health in Kenya announced on Twitter on March 15 that the country was banning all travelers from countries that have reported coronavirus cases. 

[b]Morocco [/b]
In a March 16 update, the government of Morocco announced it was suspending all international travel in and out of Morocco. 
Like Reply

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)